You can say what you like…but we’ve already won!

This past fortnight has been a bit of a rollercoaster to be honest, and as usual I didn’t deal with the lows particuarly well…in fact in most cases I didn’t deal with them at all.

The big issue lately is that my heads been so full of worries about university work, talk preperations, friends who are ill, people who need me, that even though I myself have been physically fine and as mentally ok as I ever am, I’ve felt like I’ve been drowning.

I love the fact that people talk to me about their worries and problems but it does limit the number of people I feel I can offload to and over the past weeks my already short list became even shorter.Maybe that’s why I feel more comfortable talking about this stuff on here rather than to my friends…or maybe it’s just because I have a sneaking suspicion that noone out there in cyberland actually reads what I write!

My head became a battle ground with tens of things all vying to get my full undivided attention. Each worry, concern, task trying to convince me that it was the most important, the most relevent, the most necessarry, resulting in nothing getting the full attention it deserved due to me trying to divide my energies between them all.

On top of all of this there’s been a feeling of stirring, a knowledge that the storm is being caused by more than just my head, a real feeling of being under attack. The Devil saw my distraction, he saw his chance and he took it. The battle got fiercer, the storm got stronger and a sense of failing started to creep in.

Sometimes things have to be said twice before I start to take notice of them, and it’s not just things that other people say to me!

Last Thursday a friend and I joined 1400 others at a Casting Crowns concert, my friend had just had a really tough and emotional week and whilst at the concert I had a real sense that she just needed to know that she was on the winning side. As the band played ‘Voice of Truth’ the lines:

The giant keeps on telling me … you’ll never win, you’ll never win … But the voice of truth tells me a different story …  the stone was just the right size to put the giant on the ground … I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth

kept going round in my head, and I realised something, something vital, something important, something that I knew my friend needed to hear. I realised that we so often talk of a battle with the devil that’s ongoing yet we forget one key thing …

God’s already won!

That night I went home thanking God that He’d given me something to tell her, something exciting and revitalising, and yet as I shut my eyes the battle in my head started up again and it didn’t stop. I knew the truth behind what I’d told my friend yet here I was fighting what seemed to be a loosing battle against the one I knew had already lost.

It didn’t make any sense, but as so often turns out to be the way, I wasn’t listening to my own advice! I’d got so caught up in what God wanted to say to my friend that I hadn’t listened to what He was trying to say to me. Infact I didn’t start listening to what He was saying to me until tonight when that same friend asked me to read through a draft blog post for her.

In the middles of the post (entitled ‘Fixing Things‘) is this paragraph:

A great friend of mine taught me something last week, she said, ‘You know Claire, the devil wants us to think we’re failures, he wants to stop us from doing God’s work. You need to stand up and tell him that he’s failed already! We so often talk of a battle with the devil that’s ongoing and we forget one key thing, God’s already won!’

To start with I was too busy trying to check that the lyrics written at the start of the post were correct to realise what she had said, it wasn’t until the third read through that I stopped and went ‘hold on I said that!’ And then as I read through the post those same lyrics came back to me,

The giant keeps on telling me … you’ll never win, you’ll never win … But the voice of truth tells me a different story …  the stone was just the right size to put the giant on the ground … I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth

and I realised that yes, God had wanted to let my friend know that her side had won, but (and this is an important but) He wanted me to know it as well! It took someone else saying it back to me for me to realise the full meaning of what I had said…not just for their life but for mine!

He wanted me to know that He was there, right at the eye of the storm standing strong and He wanted to help me to stand with Him. You see that battle in my head doesn’t need to be a battle! God doesn’t want a people who are just treading water. He wants us to be walking on it, with our steps guided by faith and our heads held high in the knowledge of His victory!

The battle has been won! Nothing we go through now can ever reverse the victory Jesus claimed when He died and rose again, nothing can nullify that! nothing can take it away!

So you know what, no matter how many times I hear the words ‘You’ll never win’

It’s time to start believing in the Voice of Truth when He says ‘But I already have’

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “You can say what you like…but we’ve already won!

  1. Claire

    =D I’m reading and I love this – that was the one song that stood out to me in the CC concert =) xxxx

Leave a Reply

